top of page

Garter Snakes


Garter Snakes
Multiple Garter Snakes

While out and about this past summer I happened upon these little guys in a small garden plant. I counted around a dozen or so of them slithering in and out of the plant and suspect this was them mating.


As I usually do I got pretty close to them and even reached into the plant to move the leaves aside for a better view without them paying me much attention. This was an interesting thing to stumble upon when I wasn't expecting it and it made my day to get some more photos.


After posting this picture and a few other to Facebook I immediately started receiving comments saying "Kill Them" and "I'd Move" from those who suffer from an unreasonable fear of snakes in general. These little guys won't hurt anyone and are great for pest control if you find them around your garden, yard, or even your house just leave them be and let them continue to eat those pests for you.


Over the years I've picked up many of these out in the wild and have never had one attempt to bite me aside from when I stopped one from slithering long enough to take a photo and even then it was only a minor attempt. If you do decide to hold one remember to hold them lightly, use a hand over hand motion to allow them to slither freely which makes them feel less frightened, and remember that even the most docile snake has the capability to bite if they feel threatened.


7 views0 comments
bottom of page